Tuesday, September 06, 2005

Full details new Depeche Mode album available

Taken from Side Line

After the rather disappointing "Exciter" release, the UK outfit Depeche Mode is back with a new album, "Playing The Angel", their 11th full length studio release to date. Recorded in Santa Brabara, New York and London it features 12 brand new tracks including for the first time songs co-penned by frontman Dave Gahan. The album comes presented as an extremely limited edition CD/Super Audio CD (SACD) and DVD edition, a standard regular issue and a gatefold double vinyl LP version. Produced by Ben Hillier, "Playing The Angel" features the yet unreleased but immensely popular "Precious" track. The full tracklisting goes something like this: "A Pain That I'm Used To", "John The Revelator", "Suffer Well", "The Sinner In Me", "Precious", "Macrovision", "I Want It All", "Nothing's Impossible", "Introspectre", "Damaged People", "Lillian" and "The Darkest Star". On the additional DVD you will find the following material: "Playing The Angel" in 5.1 and Stereo, a "Making The Angel" shortfilm, plus the video for "Precious" and a 'bare' version of the "Violator" classic "Clean". Finally there is also a photo gallery included with candid studio photos taken by Ben Hillier at the Santa Barbara / New York / London Recording Sessions. "Playing The Angel" will be released on October 17th and will be preceeded by the "Precious" single on October 3rd. The single will be on 3 commercial formats - again omitting various promo remixes - namingly 2 CD singles and a DVD single. The 8 mixes (including full edits) missing on these commercial formats are: Precious (Radio Version), Precious (Sasha's Spooky Mix - Full Length), Precious (Sasha's Gargantuan Vocal Mix - Full Length), Precious (Sasha's Spooky Mix - Edit), Precious (Sasha's Gargantuan Vocal Mix - Edit), Precious (Michael Mayer Balaeric Mix), Precious (Misc. Crunch Mix) and Precious (Motor Remix). More Depeche Mode news in the next days.

No comments: